Fur covered love

12 May

I’m back, but it’s with sad news that I return.

My sweet girl, Gidget or Gie, died Thursday morning. She had a seizure and just left the earth. It was quick and painless. Man was with her and even gave her CPR, but to no avail. It was simply her time.  I am comforted by the fact that Man was with her in her final moments.

Her death has left a gaping hole in my heart and soul, but in time I will recover. It has also made me consider a few things. Since Man and I don’t have human children, we have treated our dogs as such. They are spoiled, most everything we do accommodates them, we refer to ourselves as “Mommy” and “Daddy.”

Given that dogs do not live as long as humans, I have to wonder Is it wise to treat animals as children? Should we spare ourselves the immense grief that comes with losing a child that comes every ten years or so with the death of a pet?

Man and I would go to the ends of the earth for our dogs, just as we would our hypothetical human children. The joy and comfort those dogs give us is immeasurable. The pain is also immeasurable when they die, knowing that we will live many years to come without them, yet we continue to love animals.

Is this wrong? If it is, I don’t care. 

Love your four legged children with every fiber of your being, and you will be the recipient of the most wonderful kind of unconditional love. 

Image

One Response to “Fur covered love”

  1. Kateri Peterson 12/05/2013 at 20:50 #

    Rest in peace sweet pups and don’t forget to give Mommy a visit here and there 🙂 ~Schatzi and Soldier

Leave a Reply

