Simplicity

3 Apr


Last night Man and I saw a commercial for DSW Shoe Warehouse and that catchy little ditty, “Let’s Dance” was playing. Man mentioned how much he loved that song and music from the 1950s and 60s in general. I agreed. From this, we launched into a small conversation about how life was likely just better back then. The reason, we deduced was simplicity. 

Technology didn’t rule our lives like it does today. Yes, the mid-century had the advent of the TV dinner and NASA, but no one was dicking with technology in the palm of their hands at the dinner table. Even the dinner table was something that is identified with that era. We don’t even eat dinner at a table any more save for special occasions and holidays. We typically take our meals in front of the TV in the living room. Classy, I know. Man says that he likes the technology we have today; it definitely makes lives easier, but, he noted, it does not necessarily make life better. I agreed. 

All of this got me thinking about life and how my life would be better if I was a married woman in the middle of the last century. I would most certainly have children, which is a lovely thought. I’d likely stay at home taking care of them and the home, which is also a pleasant thought. I likely wouldn’t have gone to college and wouldn’t have to work because one income would support a family of four or five. 

The post war economy was booming, student loans were practically absent because college was affordable, and there was no pressure to have the newest gadget. There was no pay television channels, no cell phones to keep us tied to the grid at every moment, no real need for two fancy cars (still isn’t), and there was likely a lot less stress in general. 

Children were secure in two parent homes and knew that mom would have a snack ready for them when they returned home from school. They would work on homework at the dinner table while mom prepared dinner. The family would be thrilled to see Dad come through the doors and they would all sit down to eat together. Each member’s day would be recapped, and even though mom’s day consisted of the general running of the house, she would still be engaged in the conversation with no distractions. Dad would have dinner without the pressure to check his work email from his cell phone, and Susy and Joey wouldn’t be Facebooking at the table. 

Life does just seem like it was nicer and happier sixty years ago. I think even if I had to give up the gains of feminism over the last few decades, I would go back and give it a whirl in the 1950s. I think I’d make a damn sexy Donna Reed.

 

4 Responses to “Simplicity”

  1. christa 03/04/2013 at 18:05 #

    So true!! I keep asking Travey if I can be a stay at home wife. He says NO!
    We eat dinner at the coffee table in front of tv except when we have company. Not long ago someone was over and asked about our dining room table and asked where (as in what seat I sat in), I pointed to my side of the couch..

    • Elle 03/04/2013 at 18:09 #

      I know. I wish I could stay home and finish these books I’ve been writing. Sigh, maybe someday. I actually ate dinner while lying on the couch tonight. So embarrassing.

  2. christa 04/04/2013 at 03:51 #

    Last night my parents were here because my mom drove me and my car home from chemo so my dad had to pick her up. We ate pizza at the table

    • Elle 04/04/2013 at 05:56 #

      Small victories!

Leave a Reply

