My best friend

4 Mar

20130304-191041.jpgThis is my Gidget. She is my best friend. She has saved my life more times than I can count. She is beautiful. She is protective. She is intelligent. She is hilarious. She loves to chase a laser. She is loving. She is everything a dog should be. She has been my best friend for the last nine years.

For the last two years we have been successfully treating a heart condition. Today we went to the vet and things have worsened some. She isn’t dying or anything like that, but she has an arrhythmia now that we are treating some new drugs. She is still the same silly, loving Gie. She is happily munching on a big bone right now.

I just wanted to pay tribute to her in a public place. She still has time (hopefully lots) with me, but I know she isn’t immortal. She may be here for months or years, hopefully years, but she will ALWAYS be my baby and in my heart.

I may not get to be a mama to any humans, but to be her mama is the best thing I have ever done.

 

I love you, my sweet Gie.

535422_746940219731_1701567772_n (1)

2 Responses to “My best friend”

  1. christa 05/03/2013 at 05:10 #

    She’s beautiful, so sorry that she isn’t doing well.

    • Elle 05/03/2013 at 07:13 #

      She’s actually doing as well as she can be. As long as she’s happy and comfortable, so am I.

Leave a Reply

