Sharing Sucks

24 Feb

sharing

 

I really do hate sharing. HATE IT! 

I work really hard to buy things I want and need. I have a job, one at which I work really hard. I’m a believer of “anything worth doing is worth doing well” and all that. To be clear, I am not obsessive or a perfectionist, I used to be, but that manifested into some nasty things including and eating disorder. 

ANYWAY, given that I am almost 29+3 years old, I own a home with my husband. I don’t mind sharing most things with him. We share a bed, a room, food, bodily fluids, etc. I will share things with my siblings, niece, dogs, and best friends, like cookies, coffee, clothes, secrets. I do this because this is what families do. 

Here is a non-exhaustive list of what I don’t like sharing with people outside my family or family like circle of friends: my house, my private stash of goodies, my clothes, my groceries (I’ll come back to this in a moment), my bathroom, my hair conditioner, my personal hygiene items (not that I have had anyone use them, I don’t think), my TV(it’s my house, you’re a guest, give me the damned remote and if you don’t like 12 solid hours of HGTV, I will allow you to use my door), my cars, my Jawhawk cups, my Barbie coffee mug (that I found left in my living room!), or anything said person has not earned.

Don’t get me wrong, I am charitable. Animal and veteran’s causes get a good portion of my income. I pay taxes and help people who need it via that route.

I don’t know why I don’t like sharing, I just know I have never liked sharing. I was three when my sister was born. I did not like sharing the attention of my parents, grandparents, and uncles. Thankfully, I did not have to share my bedroom with her. I was miffed however, when my playroom became her bedroom. I actually never had to share a room with anyone (save for vacations) until college. Dorm living was nightmarish, a tale for another time, but it involved a lot of sharing that infuriated me. 

So, maybe this is all my parents’ fault…

Okay, so back to the food thing. At present there are two extra people living in my house, and I got hoodwinked into letting one of them stay here. Now, mind you, I am buying groceries for these two additional people. With MY money! I buy foods I like to eat; foods for me. This morning, I went to open my new box of Grape Nuts, only to find someone else had gotten into it. I was LIVID; still am actually. Now, there was plenty of nutty goodness left for me, but the fact that someone had gotten to it before was unsettling and downright irritating. 

One of my friends mentioned on Facebook last week that she was craving chocolate and her family had gotten into her stash. I told her I have a safe for that stuff. She laughed. I told her I wasn’t lying. The safe of specialty dark chocolate is for me and me only. 

Basically, I shouldn’t have to share my things with able bodied adults to who I have I no commitment.

I know this post was kind of a ramble, but I don’t give a shit. Anyway, I’m off; I’ve got to go Sharpie my name on everything that is mine and mine only. 

Leave a Reply

