Checking in

9 Jun

I know I have been MIA for a while. I have a good reason, I swear.

You see, the mister came back from his seven month stay in California where he was in inpatient PTSD treatment. He made amazing progress at The Pathway Home. Upon his return he had to go to court on the probation violation charge stemming from his 911 call for help during a flashback.

Yes, you read that right. Because he was on probation for a traffic violation when he called for help during a police contact, that is considered police contact and therefore my husband was sentenced to 85 days in jail. That is 85 days without correct medications, 85 days without daily psychotherapy, 85 days without his service animal, 85 days filled with screaming, yelling, unpredictable noises, and a multitude of other PTSD triggers.

So, I have been spending my days trying everything to get my husband his correct medications and working to find someone to help us get him out of jail and back to his VA treatments. This includes having to find a new lawyer, contacting congresspeople, veteran’s advocates and the like. I have been playing paperwork mindfuck with the jail medical staff, at their request. Yes, they started this game with me, of putting all of my questions in writing and submitting them for answers from an attorney. I am still shaking my head that they would start paperwork mindfuck with me, an English teacher and military wife. Really? Easiest challenge ever, accepted.

The mister is not sleeping in jail, because there are too many noises, so he is frazzled. I am not sleeping much because I am stressed and worried about him. In addition to all of this, I am in the midst of buying a new house. Paperwork hell, again. Though, I am set to close in a couple of weeks and I cannot wait. I need to get these three dogs out of this townhouse and into their huge new house and yard.

Now, the point of this post is not just explain my absence, but really to remind you that justice in America is only for a privileged few; people with money and connections. If you don’t realize this is happening in your country, then you aren’t paying attention. If you aren’t angry, you aren’t paying attention. Injustice is real and it is happening all around you. It’s obviously directly affecting my family at the moment. The only way I know to persuade change is to talk about it. Talk about the injustice, don’t sit idly by without enacting change.

It is a damn shame when a service member who is injured in his duties, calls for help and is sent to jail for it. Remember that, my fellow Americans. And talk about the injustice.

Leave a Reply

