I’m really, really smart

29 Jan

Probably smarter than you. Know what that logo up there is? Do you?

It’s the MENSA logo. MENSA is the International Association of High Intelligence. I’m a member. Have been since I was 20. Really, it means nothing other than I have a high IQ.

Being a genius is awesome for a few reasons.

1. I can handle any academic task.

2. I can learn pretty much anything from a book or by just diving in.

3.  I’m smarter than you.

Here’s what is not so awesome about being a genius:

1. I’m socially awkward.

2. Studies after studies have shown the higher your IQ, the lower your overall happiness and the higher your risk of depression.

3. It has done absolutely nothing to enhance my success.

4. My brain literally never stops thinking about things. All things.

5. I understand puns.

6. I see the world in black and white.

7. I firmly believe that logic and reason should prevail in every decision.

8. I have a low tolerance for people who do not see the world as I do.

9. I lack emotion.

Actually, the list goes on. You get the idea. Sure, I have an advantage at Scrabble and Trivial Pursuit, but no one will play with me because they always lose. So yeah, not so awesome.

 

Leave a Reply

