Grace

13 Sep

Not the biblical kind.

Not the, “Grace? She passed away thirty years ago,” kind.

I am talking about the cliche and moronic name I have been called intermittently throughout my life. Usually after some kind of unfortunate accident.

This was me last night: minus the awful dress and atrocious hair, of course. I lost my footing and took several blows the back of the head, causing an astrological event before my eyes. I also have significant bruising down my back.

I wish I could say this was the first time I have had an incident like this, but it’s not. When I was learning to ride my bike as a kid, I repeatedly ran into mailboxes and parked cars, resulting in contusions, lumps, and lots of bandages.

I still run into things on a regular basis. My husband thinks it’s hilarious. For instance, I cannot go through a door way in the middle. No, I ALWAYS hit one shoulder or the other on the door frame. It’s a gift. A rough gift, but a gift nonetheless.

I come by this naturally. My grandmother once fell in a sewer while walking down a sidewalk.

Moral of the story, at least I’m not covered in shit.

I think. Yeah, we’ll go with that.

2 Responses to “Grace”

  1. Barbara 13/09/2011 at 18:46 #

    And no doc ever found a biological reason for this? While I have a terrible habit if laughing when shit like this happens, it seems you just *can’t* possibly be that clumsy without a medical reason. Did you at least see a doc after this tumble? Loves!

  2. Torrey Shannon 13/09/2011 at 21:18 #

    OMG, you make it so hard not to laugh at your misfortune. I hope you survive. 😛

Leave a Reply

