Well then.

30 Aug

*Disclaimer: I have never read the above book, though, maybe I should.

I am guessing my parents will soon be members of this club though. Yeah, I said it. They are going to be utterly pissed off at me when they find out I am in no hurry to file for divorce. In fact, they are going to be pretty pissed off when they find out I may not file at all.

It’s true, I have decided to put on my big girl panties and remind my parents that I am 30 years old, not 13, and that I am completely rational and capable of making my own, sound decisions. I need to remind them they have raised a bright and capable daughter. They also need to respect my decision, and that will be the kicker.

As I said before, the family was rooting for my divorce due to all of the crap I have had to deal with with Zac and his PTSD and accompanying afflictions. Fine, I get that they want me to be happy and such, but I honestly wasn’t unhappy. I was/am stressed over it all, but I also made the conscious decision to stay and love my husband. Marriage isn’t easy; they all take work, even under the best of circumstances. While I realize that a divorce is relatively easy to obtain, it doesn’t mean the commitment I made when I married him means any less. I stand behind that commitment because I believe it is worth the effort and because I made a promise to him and myself.

I’m not one to break promises.

Long story short, my parents, grandparents, sister, and whomever else are going to shit their pants and probably tell me what a mistake I am making when they find out. Really though, they can step back and let me, a grown person, decide what is best for me.

2 Responses to “Well then.”

  1. Uncle Sam's Mistress 30/08/2011 at 11:48 #

    YOU have to do what makes you happy! Not what everyone else thinks. I’ve been in this situation MANY times and still get crap off my family, mostly because they don’t understand what is wrong with him. Never mind them, they will understand and if they don’t….they will get over it! Here for ya always, no matter the choices! K

  2. Mav 05/02/2012 at 23:00 #

    Wow never knew this but glad i do now

Leave a Reply

