Confidence is okay

28 Jul

Okay, so I have never been one to doubt anything about myself really. Whatever I do, I go in believing I am better than everyone else, even if I am not.  Why do I do this? Because when I believe I am better than everyone, I am going to work much harder to prove it to not only any competitors, but also to myself. Basically, it’s a motivational tool for me.

I’ve never doubted my looks or my intelligence. I have always had confidence in everything I have ever done or attempted (except for my less than stellar bike riding skills, which will never be discussed, ever). I think most of this confidence comes from parents and relatives repeatedly telling me how awesome I was growing up. They always pushed me to do things, regardless of if I had any talent for those things, by doing this, they forced me to develop skill thereby giving me confidence. However, I am realistic and know that there are folks who have higher IQs than I do and are better at certain things.

I’ve never looked in the mirror and hated what I saw. Even when I weighed more than personally ideal, or when my hair was a mess, I always think, “Damn!” When you are confident in your appearance, others pick up on that confidence and see you as you see yourself. Well, most people do, those who have their own confidence anyway. People who are less self-confident will often refer to a confidence being as conceited or stuck up. They are just plain wrong.

Confidence is something so many women lack for a multitude of reasons. It’s a shame and can completely be reversed if only women remember not to let anyone impede on their awesome.

 

 

6 Responses to “Confidence is okay”

  1. Tonya 29/07/2011 at 15:44 #

    I wish I could see myself in this way! I have NO confidence 😦 I am encouraged to attempt it though!

    • Elle 29/07/2011 at 17:06 #

      Do it! Attitude is EVERYTHING. Be bold and pave your own way, people will get out of your way and will respect you for it!

  2. Kristen@TheFrugalGirl 04/08/2011 at 07:08 #

    I think that as long as a confident attitude doesn’t cause you to look down on other people, it’s all good. But I have to watch carefully to make sure my confidence doesn’t start to morph into pride.

    • Elle 04/08/2011 at 08:04 #

      Interesting. I don’t see anything wrong with pride either though. If I do something well, I’m going to be proud of it.

      • Kristen@TheFrugalGirl 05/08/2011 at 05:05 #

        Well, a prideful attitude can make relationships difficult…a prideful attitude makes me ungracious towards other people’s faults and flaws (a prideful person thinks they’re better than everyone else and is thus impatient when other people are less than perfect).

        I totally think confidence and an “I can do this!” attitude are great (that’s what made me brave enough to take apart my washing machine and fix it!), but looking down on other people who aren’t just like me or whose gifts and skills differ from mine is not so great.

  3. Christina 18/02/2012 at 20:13 #

    OMG! The hot dog is too funny! Love it! Confidence is contagious!

Leave a Reply

