There are two reasons I want to be British

1 Jul

Now, on this weekend of our grand nation, America’s independence from Britain, I will state that I love my country with all of my heart. I am married to a true American hero and I believe in the good ole stars and stripes.

With that said, I really, really love hats. The crazier the better. Brits can wear them with style and panache; Americans just don’t.

So yes, the first reason I want to be British is for the hats. I love them. I love the pomp and circumstance they represent. I love formality. I love being at the height of fashion even when the rest of the world (read: America) sees only absurdity.

For example: I truly believe this is brilliant. How fun and empowering would it be to wear a hat like this in all seriousness, to an important event? Butterflies are creatures that denote happiness, how could you not be giddy on the inside (you know, because Brits don’t express outward emotion) while sporting this?

How about this one: Now, ignoring the hilarious, yet repugnant look on Princess Beatrice’s face, the hat is purely stunning. It’s classic in black and white, yet not terribly distracting from any other part of her couture. Of course, because she is a royal, the princess has many opportunities to wear this fabulous headpieces without a second thought, but many commoners wear awesome hats to weddings, funerals, and other formal events. I want that excitement, dammit!

Finally:Again, this is classic, but definitely makes a statement of, “Hello, I am slightly wild, but still incredibly more fantastic than you’ll ever be.” I would like to be able to make that statement by simply wearing a hat. See, Brits can do it, Americans cannot. So while British head fashion has given us Princess Beatrice and her lovely hats, America’s best contribution in this category is this: Makes you kind of wish for a British passport, doesn’t it?

 

P.S. The second reason, will come in a later post. In the meantime, Happy Independence Day and enjoy your very American Miller High Life and Nathan’s Famous Hot Dog. 

 

One Response to “There are two reasons I want to be British”

  1. Torrey Shannon 02/07/2011 at 23:22 #

    You need to watch “My Big Fat Gypsy Wedding” for more British fashion statements. 🙂

Leave a Reply

