Don’t hug me (dedicated to my lovely friend/cousin, Shannon)

18 Jun

I don’t hug. I don’t like to be hugged. Shannon and I share this preference. You see, we treasure our personal space. That’s all it is.

For me, I like to not be in touching distance of most anyone. I hug my husband of course, sort of, but pretty much everyone else is off limits. I don’t hug the rest of my family and certainly not my friends. Not that there is anything wrong with them, they all have proper hygiene and grooming habits; I just don’t care for most human contact.

For me this is not a germ thing at all. I am the least germaphobic person around. I will eat something that has been dropped on a dirty floor, I am not above it. I am scared of a little dirt or even bacteria. I have survived thirty years on this philosophy; it has served me well thus far. For me this is definitely a space thing. I like my breathing room. I like being able to extend my arms and touch nothing but air. Of course this means me and crowds are not the least bit compatible.

Most of my friends, with the exception of the lovely Shannon, are huggers. I generally do the half arm hug thing with them. It’s not personal, I just don’t want them touching me. I don’t understand the need to be that close to someone with whom you are not swapping bodily fluids.

As a high school teacher, I see a lot of hugging and just unnecessary touching in general going on among my students. I don’t understand. When I was in high school we were not hugging or touching each other in the halls. Kids these days are touchers and huggers and it deeply puzzles me. In fact, my students know I am not a hugger. I think it’s generally inappropriate for a teacher to touch a student, much less hug.  This is definitely a good CYA measure as a teacher.  However, because my students know I don’t like hugs, they are constantly trying to hug me. Like coming up behind me and putting their arms around me.  It freaks me out and frankly, pisses me off.

Maybe I am a freak for not partaking in a seemingly normal, American action. Maybe. However, it is increasingly more likely that I am just too good for most to touch me.

3 Responses to “Don’t hug me (dedicated to my lovely friend/cousin, Shannon)”

  1. Shannon 28/07/2011 at 23:38 #

    Thank you Elle I was just wondering if anyone else felt like I do. Then I came across this conveniently dedicated to Shannon . So any tips to make it stop? Thank you Shannon

    • Elle 28/07/2011 at 23:43 #

      How funny!
      As for tips for avoiding huggers, let your personal boundaries be respected. If someone goes in for a hug, step out and say, “Thanks, but I don’t hug,” or if you are snarkier, “No boobie press for you!”

  2. Shannon 29/07/2011 at 06:59 #

    Thanks I could pull off both in certain company.

Leave a Reply

