I might be wrong,

10 May

but it’s highly unlikely.

Facebook is without question, the world’s largest and most active social networking site. It spreads news, rumors, and information about people you pretend to care about. It also gives you a glimpse into the lives of those stupid fools with whom you went to school.

Here’s where I might get some flack and I don’t care: We use Facebook to make us feel better about ourselves. Humans are competitive by nature; I am no exception. I want to have a better life than that slut-cookie from my 10th grade Biology class. I want to know my choices were the right ones. In most cases, they weren’t but whatever, I am still better than she is judging by Facebook.

There are tons of people from my high school and college on my friend’s list. The ones who are badass, I keep in touch with and use Facebook as part of that purpose.  The rest, who sucked ass: druggies, sluts, morons, drop-outs, etc, are the ones I like to spy on.  I also love to spy on those who were in the “in crowd.”

Now, I promise you that the majority of the people who use Facebook are doing exactly the same thing, at least as a bonus to general communication. It’s true. Humans are voyeurs and most of us like to do it in private. Evidently, we are chickenshits as well.

Off to peep.

2 Responses to “I might be wrong,”

  1. Megan 10/05/2011 at 15:50 #

    Facebook is probably the main reason so few people went to our high school reunion (at least it appeared that way). It took away all the mystery of what everyone is up to. Haha.

  2. Elle 10/05/2011 at 16:35 #

    Agreed. Why waste the money?

Leave a Reply

