Authority

18 Apr

I don’t like it, unless it’s my own. I don’t like being told what to do, by anyone, at all, for any reason. I don’t generally need help with things, but when I do, I will ask for it.I don’t even like reminders because they always come off as condescending to me. I don’t take to that well, obviously.

Now, I like teaching so much because of the autonomy it provides. I get to run my classroom the way I want to. I like that. I like being in charge; it’s in my nature. I have bossy DNA. It’s probably also the result of being the oldest child in a largish family.

Here is what prompted this post. Last weekend I had to go on post to take my husband some things while he was at work. Well my military sticker expires at the end of this month, something of which I was fully aware. Please, keep in mind it was the 9th day of the month when I went over there. As I came through the gate, the guard snidely said, “Your sticker is about to expire.” I replied, “Yes, I know, thank you,” and drove off. What I wanted to reply, “Yes, jackass I know how to count and I still have 21 days to take care of it.” Unfortunately, my behavior can reflect poorly on my husband. Fucking military.

While that was the incident that got me thinking how much I hate authority, I have many other instances that even years later make me cringe. For example, a cop telling me I can’t have a for sale sign in my car window, this happened in 2001, yeah I hang on to things. Or a boss telling me how to count my drawer at Hooters. To him, I said, “Yes, I have a college degree and I can count out $400 dollars. I am doing it this way because it’s more efficient. You should try it MY way.” He scoffed and stormed off.

The truth is, very few people know more than I do about most things. Now, I will admit that I am no scholar of underwater basketweaving, or expeditionary bird watching, but I can hold my own on most topics. I take in knowledge and I retain it. I am gifted in that respect.

Anyway, if you are going to try to tell me how to do something, especially without me asking for your input, kindly fuck off.

2 Responses to “Authority”

  1. Torrey Shannon 18/04/2011 at 19:05 #

    I just heart you. Seriously.

  2. ecsh2381 18/04/2011 at 19:32 #

    ❤ back at you, Torrey.

Leave a Reply

