Beauty sleep

11 Apr

 

 

 

 

 

This is what I look like when I am well rested and pleasant. When I am well rested, my contacts go in smoothly, make up gets done, hair gets styled, and there is a sweet, albeit seductive pout on my perfectly glossed lips.  This is the well rested Liz. This is the Liz my students hope they see each morning at school. This is the Liz my husband hopes for on his days off.  Hell, this is the Liz I hope for every night before I try to sleep.

 

 

When the hoping doesn’t work and I don’t sleep, for whatever reason, I look like this.

Scariest fuckin’ thing you’ve ever seen, right? I know! No one deserves to look at this, much less look like this.  Alas, lack of sleep turns me into a monster.

I love sleep, it’s easy to see why. Who wants to look like this? Really though, sleep is not easily had around my house. If my dogs hear something outside when the windows are open they go crazy. If my husband is keyed up, I get keyed up and don’t sleep. If my brain won’t shut off, I don’t sleep. If I am fighting a Labrador and husband for bed space, I won’t sleep.

You get the idea. I have never been a good sleeper, not even as an infant according to my parents. I remember being awake for days on end in high school because I dreaded it so much.  It was in college I discovered that booze, a sedative for average people, only made me bounce off of the walls; that can lead us to only one conclusion, I am above average.  Now, at almost thirty, I sleep well about one night a week and this generally requires medication.

Now folks, I did not sleep well last night. It is currently 1912 hrs and I am headed to bed, with the help of an anti-anxiety, in hopes of getting some sleep.  I hope to look like this tomorrow .

I’ll let you know how it turns out.

 

E

4 Responses to “Beauty sleep”

  1. Rebecca 11/04/2011 at 18:55 #

    Palin, sans the liberal crayon doodling, is hotter than donut grease. A person of any age could only hope to look that good.

    • ecsh2381 11/04/2011 at 18:57 #

      It’s when she opens her mouth the frightfulness emerges.

  2. Rebecca 11/04/2011 at 18:57 #

    But I get your point.

  3. Rebecca 11/04/2011 at 19:07 #

    Disagree. But I feel the same about your president.

Leave a Reply

