Something happened this weekend

5 Apr

That has me thinking about some life choices I have made.  On Sunday I came upon a motorcycle accident that had just occurred. Guy was lying in the ditch, bleeding from his arm. Other motorcyclists had stopped, the guys he was with presumably, but they were standing dumbfounded. I called Zac and jumped out of the car. I got down in the ditch and stabilized the guy’s neck with my hands all the while talking to Zac as he was giving me instructions as to what to look for.

I remained calm, but I am always calm in crisis; years of PTSD flashbacks and just general personality traits have allowed me such privilege. The rest of the bikers were uneasy and not of much help. I kept “Jim’s” head stabilized and talked to him while we waited for EMS.

While this might not seem like much, I felt really awesome doing this. Really comfortable. Then, I felt really guilty, like I had sold myself short. I know I did. I was on the medical path once upon a time. Then I fell in love and got really lazy. I became a teacher instead.

Now, I like teaching. I like the autonomy it provides, as I am really a very independent person, just ask my psychologist.  Additionally, I am a quick and logical thinker, I do so well under pressure, and I am incredibly bright and most capable of most anything.

All of that being said, rehashed, regurgitated, etc, I am looking at doing a direct entry MSN program. I have found several through schools across the country, yes, even reputable ones. It will take me around five years to complete and ideally I can still do most of it while still teaching. The University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee has a direct entry MSN program that is online and they will set up local clinicals for you.  Since it is a real, brick and mortar school, the price is reasonable as well.

I am not for sure I want to do this, but it is definitely an option I am exploring. I know what many of you who know me are thinking, I am impulsive and get ideas into my head without totally thinking them through. I have to ask though, is that always a bad thing? I don’t think so. Most of the major decisions of my life have been what most would consider impulsive and I don’t regret most of them. Most; you know with the exception of the previous med school drop-out bit.

I know it will be a shitload of work if I follow through with this and I know it will mean more student loan debt, but I also know I will be using my brain more and my earning potential will be exponentially greater as a Nurse Practitioner than as a high school teacher.

Still dreaming,

E

4 Responses to “Something happened this weekend”

  1. Aimee 06/04/2011 at 21:16 #

    I totally have been reconsidering teaching lately. Maybe it is just this time of year. Maybe it is the crappy pay and feeling unappreciated. Maybe it is the disrespectful students. Or maybe it is because I have always wondered what it would be like to do something different. Whatever the case may be, I am just so very ready for this year to be over with.

  2. ecsh2381 07/04/2011 at 09:50 #

    I agree that the crappy pay and lack of appreciation are feeding this feeling for me. However, do you just feel like sometimes you aren’t using your brain enough? I think that is my biggest obstacle.

  3. Crystal 08/04/2011 at 21:08 #

    I really hope you follow through with this. I think you would be great at it and the pay is SOOOO much better. I actually considered hard going back to Nursing School to become a CRNA. I just can’t do it. I can not be a Nurse. I can’t deal with shit nor do I have compassion that is needed to be a Nurse. Good luck to you!

  4. Megan 11/04/2011 at 16:11 #

    I’ve totally been thinking about nursing school. It’s kind of like social work, but pays more. Not to mention that if I got a masters to be a psychiatric nurse practitioner, I’d still be dealing with mental health.

    I’ve also thought about being an ultrasound technician. Less stress, generally better hours, and much better pay than I’ll ever get.

Leave a Reply

