This is my dream

1 Apr

Horse ranch in Colorado. Yep, that is what I want. Several hundred acres with horses (yes, I do realize those are cows in the photo), dogs, a few bison and the freedom to enjoy it all. Leaving behind the city, well even the small town, really. I think this would do wonders for my husband and I. We would have very little stress other than taking care of our animals and enjoying the outdoors.

The cool, clean, dry air of Colorado just seem heavenly. The scenery can’t be beat. I know it would just be really relaxing and probably very therapeutic for Zac and his PTSD.  Getting back to nature and dirt and animals and mountains would be a real treat.

We could both pursue careers that we enjoy. I would likely give up teaching in a school and he could leave his department. Maybe he would join another department, maybe not. Either way, I think things would be more pleasant all around. The stifle of the small town in which we currently live is becoming too much. The area, except for the farmers, is fairly economically depressed. Everything seems grey and dingy. I am ready for crisp and clean.

There are lots of dreams in this head of mine, but this is the most prominent and possibly the most doable.

Always dreaming,

E

8 Responses to “This is my dream”

  1. Rebecca 04/04/2011 at 18:57 #

    Have you lived in Co.? Is this something that is possible for you and Zac? How exciting! I am not especially attracted to mountains but I would like to spend some time in Wyoming – the wide open spaces just seem so delicious..

  2. ecsh2381 05/04/2011 at 10:09 #

    I think it is possible at some point. However, I don’t think Zac would go for Colorado; he loves Texas and I don’t. I suppose Oklahoma is a compromise, but EWW.

  3. Torrey Shannon 07/04/2011 at 18:32 #

    It’s possible. We may only have 5 acres and a 3-stall horse barn with no horses yet, but we are in Colorado Ranching Country in a custom log home. We live at 9.100′ above sea level with snow-capped mountains surrounding us in every direction. You may want to check out Westcliffe, CO as your dream destination! 🙂 Come visit if you want to be sure!

    It was the best thing we ever did for Dan. No noise, city lights, or any stress from environmental triggers. Nearest traffic light is 40 miles away. Bliss.

    • ecsh2381 07/04/2011 at 18:48 #

      That is awesome! I would love to visit. If you’re serious, I am game. May I ask, how you found your place?

      • Torrey Shannon 07/04/2011 at 19:06 #

        We had visited Colorado plenty of times, loved it, and planned to move here…sometime. But in October 2009 we attended the Eagle’s Summit Ranch for a session (http://www.daveroever.org/esr/index.php) and absolutely fell in love with the area. We went home and just knew this was where we needed to live and retire. I called a realtor in town and got the ball rolling. Six weeks later, we were moving into our VERY FIRST HOME, sight unseen. We did everything to buy the home by phone or internet. We got the house for $160K LESS than the asking price…a steal. We got it at a steal because…well…unless you have income to support a family that doesn’t require having a job, you really don’t have an economy to support you here. It’s quiet and laid back. It’s an 1800’s mining town, population 455 people. We have a large population of Amish living here too. It’s just very quaint.

        The door is open. We would love to host your visit!

  4. ecsh2381 07/04/2011 at 19:12 #

    How wonderful! I am not sure we could survive without our incomes, but maybe in retirement! I will certainly come to visit before then though. Thank you for your offer of hospitality!

  5. Torrey Shannon 07/04/2011 at 19:16 #

    We live off of just my DH’s retirement income and have three kids. It’s doable. 🙂

  6. ecsh2381 07/04/2011 at 19:19 #

    Well we are nowhere near retirement, but thankfully we have no human kids. Perhaps if things fall into place the way I truly believe they will, this dream can become a reality.

Leave a Reply

